SIMONT BRAUN has a Banking, Finance and Securities practice covering the regulatory obligations of credit institutions, investment companies, collective investment undertakings and insurance companies, public offerings of companies on the capital markets, stock exchange law and the financing of acquisitions and other projects.
The Banking, Finance and Securities team provides legal advice and assists clients in relation to the structuring, negotiation and completion of market transactions. Our lawyers guide clients in their contacts with the Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) and the National Bank of Belgium (BNB), and represent them in litigation concerning financial transactions in the areas of banking law or insurance. The Banking, Finance and Securities team closely collaborate with the other pratices and in particular with the Corporate team.
The practice of the Banking, Finance and Securities team covers the following:
  • assistance to investment companies in connection with their establishment or provision of services on the Belgian market ; commercialization of UCITS units in Belgium or other financial products and unit-linked insurance offered by Belgian or foreign-based companies
  • regulatory obligations of banks, investment companies (particularly MiFID compliance), insurance companies and collective investment undertakings (such as Sicavs, Sicafis, pension funds, etc.)
  • assistance in European passport activation
  • public issues of bonds, shares and other financial instruments on regulated or non-regulated markets, by Belgian or foreign-based companies, coupled with private placements, stock exchange issues, and hostile or friendly takeover bids
  • advice on clearing and settlement, dematerialization of shares and all types of contractual arrangements: repurchase agreements ("repos"), netting, cash pooling, factoring, etc.
  • drafting of legal opinions in all areas of practice of the Banking, Finance and Securities team
  • market abuse
Examples of major recent transactions include:
  • we advised European stock exchanges in establishing a single order book
  • we regularly assist credit companies in contract drafting to ensure they comply with the regulatory obligations, particularly under the MiFID Directives and the transposition legislation into Belgian law
  • we assisted an English real estate group in a hostile takeover bid over real estate certificates. We also helped them with the negotiation and financing of the transaction
  • we assist leading Belgian and international issuers concerning the Belgian aspects of introducing EMTN programmes or bond issues.
  • we assisted a Real Estate Investments Trust (REIT) in its admission to trading on Euronext Brussels
  • we are advising an investment company on the implementation of a multilateral trading facility (MTF)
  • we advise a family office regarding regulatory issues relating to such type of activities. We also provide an assistance for the drafting of contracts with the family office's clients or services providers

SIMONT BRAUN a une pratique de droit bancaire, financier et des sûretés qui couvre l’ensemble des obligations réglementaires des établissements de crédit, des entreprises d’investissement, des organismes de placement collectif et des compagnies d’assurance, les opérations publiques des sociétés sur les marchés des capitaux, le droit boursier et les financements d’acquisition et de projets.

L’équipe Banking, Finance and Securities fournit des avis juridiques et assiste ses clients dans la structuration, la négociation et la réalisation d’opérations sur les marchés. Elle les accompagne dans leurs contacts avec la Financial Services and Markets Authority (FSMA) et la Banque Nationale de Belgique (BNB), et elle les représente à l’occasion de procédures contentieuses liées à des opérations de droit financier ou dans le domaine du droit bancaire ou des assurances. L’équipe Banking, Finance and Securities collabore étroitement avec les autres départements et en particulier avec l'équipe Corporate.

L’équipe Banking, Finance and Securities se compose de spécialistes dont certains enseignent entre autres le droit financier international à l’université.

L’équipe Banking, Finance and Securitiesest particulièrement active dans les domaines suivants :
  • assistance aux entreprises d’investissement en vue de leur établissement en Belgique ou de prestations de services en Belgique; commercialisation en Belgique de parts d’OPC ou de produits financiers ou d’assurances de type « branche 23 » par des sociétés belges ou étrangères;
  • obligations réglementaires des banques, des entreprises d’investissement (notamment en vue d’assurer le respect des obligations imposées par la Directive MiFID), des entreprises d’assurance et des organismes de placement collectif (tels que les Sicavs, Sicafis, les fonds de pension, etc.) ;
  • assistance dans le cadre de l’activation des passeports européens ;
  • émissions publiques d’obligations, d’actions et de tous autres instruments financiers sur les marchés belges réglementés ou non réglementés, par des sociétés belges ou étrangères, le cas échéant couplées avec des placements privés, introductions en bourse, offres publiques d’acquisition amicales ou hostiles ;
  • avis en matière de clearing et de settlement, de dématérialisation de titres et à propos de tous types de conventions en droit financier telles que les conventions de cession-rétrocession, de netting, de cash pooling, de factoring, etc.  ;
  • rédaction de legal opinions dans tous les domaines d’activité de l’équipe Banking, Finance and Securities ;
  • matière des abus de marché au sens large.
A titre illustratif, voici quelques exemples d’opérations significatives récentes :
  • nous avons conseillé des bourses européennes dans la mise en œuvre d’un single order book ;
  • nous assistons régulièrement des établissements de crédit dans la rédaction de leur documentation contractuelle afin d’en assurer la conformité avec les obligations réglementaires découlant notamment de la Directive MiFID et de la législation qui l’a transposée en droit belge ;
  • nous avons assisté un groupe immobilier anglais dans le cadre d’une offre publique d’acquisition hostile sur des certificats immobiliers, en ce compris la négociation du financement de l’opération;
  • nous assistons des émetteurs belge et étranger de premier plan en ce qui concerne les aspects belges de la mise en œuvre de programmes EMTN ou d’émissions obligataires ;
  • nous avons assisté une Sicafi en vue de son entrée en bourse sur Euronext Brussels ;
  • nous conseillons une société d’investissement dans le cadre de la mise en place d’un multilateral trading facilty (MTF);
  • nous conseillons un family office tant en ce qui concerne les questions réglementaires liées à ce type d'activité, que pour la rédaction de contrats à conclure avec des clients ou avec des prestataires de services.